Supplementary Election: Melaye Votes, Vows To Reclaim Stolen Mandate In Court

Supplementary Election: Melaye Votes, Vows To Reclaim Stolen Mandate In Court

Senator Dino Melaye has vowed to reclaim his stolen mandate at the courts if the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) fails to cancel the November 16, Kogi West rerun election.

Melaye made the disclosure after casting his ballot in his Iluofin ward, Ayetoro in Saturdays supplementary election.

His words: "It is not the beginning of this process that is the problem. It is usually at the tail end that hoodlums usually disrupt the process.

View this post on Instagram

In Court

A post shared by YANS.NG (@yansnigeria) on

READ ALSO: Dino Melaye Storms INEC Office With 21 Video Clips As Evidence Of Alleged Election Malpractice

Asked if will seek redress in court should INEC fails to cancel the entire process, Melaye added: "Yes it inevitable. I will seek legal redress because the court is the hope of the common man."

Recall that INEC had declared the November 16 rerun as inconclusive following the cancellation of elections in some polling units.

The returning officer, Professor Olayinde Lawal while making the announcement stated that the margin of votes between the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Smart Adeyemi and that of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Dino Melaye is less than the total number of canceled votes.

Adeyemi polled a total of 80,118 votes, while Senator Melaye got 59,548 votes from the seven Local Government Areas in the senatorial district leaving a margin of 20,570 votes lower than the 43,127 registered voters in 53 polling units of 20 registration areas in the zone where elections were canceled.

The rerun became necessary after an appeal court seating in Abuja affirmed the ruling of the Kogi State National/State Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal, invalidating the February 23 election of Dino Melaye as the senator representing Kogi West at the National Assembly. Adeyemi served in the senate between 2007-2015 under the PDP before he was defeated by Dino Melaye in 2015.

FRSC Official Killed As Gunmen Attack In Kogi Why Saraki-Led Senate Rejected Buhari’s $30bn Loan Request - Shehu Sani