AA, ADC, APGA - Full List Of Political Parties That Survived Deregistration

AA, ADC, APGA - Full List Of Political Parties That Survived Deregistration

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released a list of 18 recognized political parties in Nigeria as of 6th February 2020.

This comes after the electoral body deregistered 74 parties out of the 92 already in place.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu made the declaration at a news conference Thursday in Abuja.

READ ALSO: INEC Deregisters 74 Political Parties (Full List)

He said the decision of the commission was in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

The national assembly recently amended the constitution to allow INEC deregister political parties on the following grounds: “breach of any of the requirements for registration as a party, failure to win at least 25 percent of the votes cast in one state in a presidential election or 25 percent of the votes cast in one local government area, and failure to win at least one ward in a chairmanship election, one seat in the national or state assembly election or one seat in a councilorship election”.

Professor Mahmood said the parties were assessed on the basis of their performance in the general elections as well as in the area council elections in the federal capital territory (FCT), after which 75 were found to not have met the aforementioned criteria. However, one of the political parties, the Action Peoples Party (APP), filed a suit in court and obtained an order restraining the Commission from deregistering it. Consequently, the party remains registered pending the determination of the case by the court.

Recognized political parties include:

  1. A. Accord
  2. AA - Action Alliance
  3. AAC - African Action Congress
  4. ADC - African Democratic Congress
  5. ADP - Action Democratic Party
  6. APC - All Progressives Congress
  7. APGA - All Progressives Grand Alliance
  8. APM- Allied Peoples Movement
  9. LP - Labour Party
  10. NNPP - New Nigeria Peoples
  11. New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)
  12. National Rescue Movement (NRM)
  13. Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)
  14. Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
  15. Social Democratic Party (SDP)
  16. Young Progressive Party (YPP)
  17. Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)
NECO Releases Result As 52% Fail To Credit English, Maths EPL: Arteta To Sell Aubameyang, Lacazette, Ozil