JUST IN: Governor el-Rufai Sacks All Political Appointees

Kaduna state governor Nasir el-Rufai has asked political appointees to tender their resignation letters on or before 30th April 2019 to enable him to start the selection of his new term ahead of his second tenure.

This was disclosed in a statement on Tuesday by the Senior Special Assistant to the governor on Media and Publicity, Samuel Aruwan.

According to the directive, each notice of resignation must be submitted along with a handover note, signed by the political appointee on behalf of the MDA or office to which he or she had been appointed. All resignation letters should be properly addressed to the Principal Private Secretary.

Aruwan stated that Malam Nasir El-Rufai has thanked all political appointees for their contributions and service to the state during his first-term.

He said: “As he constitutes the team that will assist him in his second-term, the governor said he expects the process to be enriched by the handover notes from the political appointees, and the report of the Transition Committee headed by the Deputy Governor-elect, Dr. Hadiza Sabuwa Balarabe.

“The following appointees are expected to comply with the directive: All Commissioners in the State Executive Council, All Permanent Secretaries, Special Advisers, Directors-General, Executive Secretaries, Managing Directors, General Managers and other Heads of Agencies, Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants and Technical Assistants to the Governor, other than the Kashim Ibrahim Fellows.

“Excluded from compliance with this directive are full-time Commissioners of certain State Executive bodies who retain their tenured appointments in the following agencies:

i. Fiscal Responsibility Commission
ii. Civil Service Commission
iii. Judicial Service Commission
iv. Assembly Service Commission
v. The State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM)
vi. The Peace Commission
vii. Public Procurement Authority
viii. Water Regulatory Authority

“Due to recent adjustments in roles within the government, the occupants of and recent appointees into the following offices are also exempted from the directive to resign: a. Commissioner of Finance

Principal Private Secretary
Special Adviser, Intergovernmental Relations
Managing Director, Kaduna Markets Development Company
Managing Director, Kaduna Investment and Finance Company, and
Any other political appointee sworn-in or appointed to their current role within the last six months.”

Read Previous

JUST IN: Inflation Rate In Nigeria Drops To 11.25%, Says NBS

Read Next

The People’s Revolt in Algeria and Sudan By Reuben Abati

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *